Osher Lifelong Learning Institute at UCSC

Peer-Led Interest Group Program, 2015 – 2016


Welcome to the OLLI interest group page, and check out the list of our groups below. If you’re not already an OLLI member, click here to join. Your donation of $60.00 for joining OLLI also allows you to participate in any number of interest groups (check with leader of any group about space available).

Any questions? See below for more information, following the list, or contact the interest group coordinator, Peter Nurkse, at 831-429-8493 or nurkse@gmail.com. If you have any problems viewing the list, expand your window to the full size of your display and you should be able to see all of it easily. Current list version: 10/21/2016. To download table for printing, click here.

Interest Group
Activities
Meets
Leader(s)
Phone
Email
Adventuring
Excursions: local & distant
contact coordinator
Peter Nurkse, coordinator
331-3671
nurkse@gmail.com
Amateur Chamber Music
Chamber music groups
contact leader
Merilyn Neher
600-8576
mneher3@gmail.com
American History & Lit
New insights and revisions
contact leader
Virginia Law
425-5453
veelaw29@gmail.com
Aptos Non-Fiction
Non-fiction reading
1st Tue 2pm
Judy McNeely
600-6382
judybookdoc@collegepathfinders.com
Aptos Reading Group
Fiction & non-fiction
2nd Thr 1pm, Aptos library
Judy McNeely
600-6382
judybookdoc@collegepathfinders.com
Art — Painting
Studio & outdoors
contact leader
Gayla Pius
239-1834
gaylapius@gmail.com
Art & Architecture
Visit places local & SF Bay
contact leader
Lois Widom
423-0184
lowidom@yahoo.com
Baroque Festival
Attend concerts & lectures
contact leader
David Copp
708-2206
dhcopp@yahoo.com
Biographies
Reading bios and autobios
Sun 10am, Westside
Peter Poriss

petermartin408@gmail.com
Bridge
Live Oak Senior Center
Mon 1pm
Gail Evans
423-8130
gevans@sfsu.edu
Mary Roskosz
426-6731
mjroskosz@me.com
Jo Anne Dlott
688-1607
jjdlott@gmail.com
Colleges 9 and 10
Contact with students
contact leader
Mary Caravalho
332-2361
marycaravalho@gmail.com
Community Media
Participate in Community Media
contact leader
Mathilde Rand
475-2411
randomsantacruz@gmail.com
Concept Exchange Society
Exchange world views
1st Sun 10:30am
Peter Marks
464-8300
peter@designinsight.com
Creative Writing
Share member writings
1st Fri 10am
Dee Takemoto

dtakit@gmail.com
Current Affairs I
Current affairs
3rd Wed noon
Mark Gordon
408-314-4802
mgordon@cruzio.com
Current Affairs II
Current affairs
3rd Mon noon
Constantine Lackides
706-2202
cnlackides@gmail.com
Dickens
Read Dickens in installments
2nd Wed 1pm
Cathy Cress
454-6407
cressgcm@got.net
Digital Photography
Critiques, shoots, & trips
4th Mon 1:30pm
Cindy Margolin
688-8129
crmargol@gotsky.com
Dining Out
Different local restaurants
3rd Tue at 6:30pm
Diane Zacher
786-9550
dianezacher@gmail.com
3rd Wed at 6:30pm
Kathy Hatfield
426-6399
b40mom@gmail.com
Discovering UCSC
Behind the scenes
contact leader
Sandy Brauner
477-7081
sanjan@cruzio.com
Ears in Action
Help UC students with papers
contact leader
Mary Caravalho
332-2361
marycaravalho@gmail.com
Eastern Spirituality
Self-realization & Taoist yoga
2nd week
Steve Strasnick
429-5201
steve_strasnick@comcast.net
English in Action
Talk with foreign students
contact leader
Karin Grobe
427-0984
kgrobe@wormdoctor.org
Evening Book Discussion
Fiction & non-fiction books
1st Wed 7pm
Dusty Miller
426-0835
hndmiller@hotmail.com
Explore Santa Cruz County
Walks around city & county
3rd Fri 10am
Kathryn Nance
425-4569
kathrynn@cruzio.com
Sue Myers
818-6450
suemyers85@gmail.com
Peter Nurkse
331-3671
nurkse@gmail.com
Financial Education
Financial strategies
2nd Wed 10am
Steve Edmonds
338-3106
steve2rr@gmail.com
Folk Songs
Group sing
1st & 3rd Tue 1:00pm
Lou Rose
477-0360
ramblingroses@yahoo.com
French for French Speakers
Only French
1st Tue 10:30am
Richard Zakarian
713-5798
rzakarian@csun.edu
Great Books I
The classics
1st Thr 1:15pm
Faye Alexander
476-8575
qtpie95010@gmail.com
Great Books II
Essays, stories, poems, plays
1st Wed noon
Susan Gorsky
688-5371
sgorsky@sbcglobal.net
Great Decisions
World affairs, 9 wks in March
contact leader
Mary Caravalho
332-2361
marycaravalho@gmail.com
Horticulture
Work on plantings at Cabrillo
Thr 10:00am
Pat McVeigh
566-4553
pmcveigh@baymoon.com
Lunchtime Dining Out
Occasional local lunches
contact leader
Irene Lennox
457-2690
scotirene@yahoo.com
Making of an Elder Culture
Find & communicate wisdom
Tue 10:30am
Mary McKane

mmckane9@me.com
Memoir Writing I
Write, read, listen, discuss
2nd Thr 1pm
Joyce Burt
464-3470
sandplay@ix.netcom.com
Memoir Writing II
Write, read, listen, discuss
4th Thr 1pm
Joyce Burt
464-3470
sandplay@ix.netcom.com
Navigating Retirement
Develop outlook & plan
1st & 3rd Thr 10 am
Katrina Cope
713-8440
katrina.cope@gmail.com
Nancy Calvin
466-0720
nancycalvin52@gmail.com
New Yorker Aptos
Fiction, non-fiction, poetry
alt. Thr 2pm
Joan Rose
477-0360
ramblingroses@yahoo.com
New Yorker Capitola
All recent issues
4th Tue 1:30pm
Faye Alexander
476-8575
qtpie95010@gmail.com
New Yorker Live Oak
Fiction, non-fiction, poetry
3rd Thr 1pm
Cathy Cress
454-6407
cressgcm@got.net
New Yorker Santa Cruz I
Short stories, essays, & poetry
3rd Wed 2pm
Peggy Williams
476-2965
pegwil.atty@gmail.com
New Yorker Santa Cruz II
Fiction, non-fiction, poetry
2nd Thr 2pm
Helen Jones
420-1220
helenjones815@gmail.com
New Yorker Poetry
Just poetry
last Fri 10am
Pegatha Hughes
440-9018
pegathahughes@gmail.com
Newcomers
Get acquainted with others
contact leader
Mary Caravalho
332-2361
marycaravalho@gmail.com
Non-Fiction West Side
Non-fiction reading
4th Tue 2pm
Mary Caravalho
332-2361
marycaravalho@gmail.com
Philosophy
Knowledge, reality, existence
2nd Thr 4pm
Paul Seever
440-9018
pseever@prodigy.net
Play Reading
Members select plays to read
1st Mon 1:30pm
Shirley Forsyth
477-1796
shirlclu@gmail.com
Read & Socialize
Many books, little time
4th Fri 10am
Edna Elkins
454-8611
ednautah@msn.com
Read It Again, Sam
Books worth reading again
4th Wed 1pm
Joan Rose
477-0360
ramblingroses@yahoo.com
Reading Circle
Books selected by members
3rd Mon 1:30pm
Irene Lennox
457-2690
scotirene@yahoo.com
Recorder Playing
Beautiful music
Tue 2:30pm
Mary Ann Franson

mfranson@cruzio.com
Santa Cruz History
Visit sites with local experts
contact leader
Vickie Bridsall
440-0128
vickiebirdsall@yahoo.com
Science Practitioners
Science background needed
3rd Mon 1pm
Robert Wrathall
439-0857
wrathall@sbcglobal.net
Short Stories
Great American stories
to be determined
Kathryn Cowan
431-6114
kathycowan43@yahoo.com
Social Science Discussion
All the social sciences
3rd Tue 12:30pm
Dusty Miller
426-0835
hndmiller@hotmail.com
Spanish Conversation
Spanish language & people
alt. Wed 2pm
Dolores McCabe

dmccabe47@gmail.com
Still Life Drawing
Draw still life subjects indoors
contact leader
Analydia Scoggin
427-1052
analydia36@yahoo.com
Tennis (doubles)
Intermediate level, partner not required
Tue 1pm & Thr 9:30am
David Brick
325-7380
dbrick@cruzio.com
Not For Profits
Visit community organizations
contact leader
Gabrielle Stocker
426-0865
gstocker2@cruzio.com
Walking
Local forests & seashores
Wed 9:30am
Alice Tarail
334-3328
alicet@cruzio.com
What If
Review past choices for future
1st Fri 10am
Phil Lynch
426-1837
what.if.alternative.history@gmail.com
Wine Tasting
Visit local wineries
contact leader
Margie Lafia
626-513-6677
mlafia56@gmail.com
Writing Genealogical History
Our stories or narratives
1st & 3rd Wed 3:00pm
Pamela Roby
247-0675
roby@ucsc.edu
Cynthia Solem
239-3033
cysole@yahoo.com

Some interest groups are large, like Art & Architecture, which visits museums, galleries, and public buildings all over the Bay Area. Others are smaller to allow members to pursue activities such as creative writing and photography, or to participate in discussions. We also encourage members to form new interest groups and new sections of existing interest groups.

Group leaders are free to structure and schedule their group as they and the participants wish. Just check with the leader if space is available within any group, and for further information. You can ask to be on a waiting list if the group is full, or consider starting another group. We have many New Yorker groups, always room for another group on any subject.

Our Interest Group Program is unusual among all the Osher Lifelong Learning Institutes because most mainly offer courses (sometimes quite expensive) taught by paid instructors through university extension departments. Although our courses are wide-ranging, popular, and invaluable, the heart of the Osher Lifelong Learning Institute at UCSC continues to be our peer-led groups, which give our members the opportunity to take part in discussions and activities of interest.

One of the goals of OLLI at UCSC is to raise scholarship money for transfer and re-entry students, including military veterans. Both interest group leaders and the volunteer instructors of our wonderful classes are motivated to help raise funds for our scholarship program. Our Osher Foundation grant can be used for our OLLI expenses, but cannot be used for student scholarships.